Chapter 4. Logging

4.1. Accessing the service logs for OpenShift Dedicated clusters

You can view the service logs for your OpenShift Dedicated clusters by using Red Hat OpenShift Cluster Manager. The service logs detail cluster events such as load balancer quota updates and scheduled maintenance upgrades. The logs also show cluster resource changes such as the addition or deletion of users, groups, and identity providers.

Additionally, you can add notification contacts for an OpenShift Dedicated cluster. Subscribed users receive emails about cluster events that require customer action, known cluster incidents, upgrade maintenance, and other topics.

4.1.1. Viewing the service logs by using OpenShift Cluster Manager

You can view the service logs for an OpenShift Dedicated cluster by using Red Hat OpenShift Cluster Manager.

Prerequisites

  • You have installed an OpenShift Dedicated cluster.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to OpenShift Cluster Manager Hybrid Cloud Console and select your cluster.
  2. In the Overview page for your cluster, view the service logs in the Cluster history section.
  3. Optional: Filter the cluster service logs by Description or Severity from the drop-down menu. You can filter further by entering a specific item in the search bar.
  4. Optional: Click Download history to download the service logs for your cluster in JSON or CSV format.

4.1.2. Adding cluster notification contacts

You can add notification contacts for your OpenShift Dedicated cluster. When an event occurs that triggers a cluster notification email, subscribed users are notified.

Procedure

  1. Navigate to OpenShift Cluster Manager Hybrid Cloud Console and select your cluster.
  2. On the Support tab, under the Notification contacts heading, click Add notification contact.
  3. Enter the Red Hat username or email of the contact you want to add.

    Note

    The username or email address must relate to a user account in the Red Hat organization where the cluster is deployed.

  4. Click Add contact.

Verification

  • You see a confirmation message when you have successfully added the contact. The user appears under the Notification contacts heading on the Support tab.