2.2.4. Cluster Troubleshooting

Configuring Cluster Policies
Defining the load-balancing or power sharing modes for hosts in the cluster is highly recommended. You can choose to set the policy on either load balancing or power saving, but not both.

To set load and power management policies for hosts in a cluster:

  1. On the Tree pane click on the + sign next to the System tab. A list of Data Centers displays. Select the required Data Center from this list.
  2. Open clusters by either expanding the required Data Center tab in the Tree pane and clicking on Clusters or select Clusters from the Results pane.
  3. A list of clusters displays. Select the required cluster. The Details pane for the cluster displays.
    Cluster Policy Tab

    Figure 2.12. Cluster Policy Tab


  4. On the Details pane, click the Policy tab. Click the Edit button. The Edit Policy dialog box displays, typically with the None option selected.
    Edit Policy Dialog Box

    Figure 2.13. Edit Policy Dialog Box


  5. Define the Load and Power Mode for hosts in the cluster. Select one of the following:
    • None; to have no load or power sharing between hosts. This is the default mode.
    • Even Distribution; to evenly distribute the processing load across all hosts in the cluster. The host's CPU load is measured and used to apply the policy. Use the blue slider to specify the Maximum Service Level a host is permitted to have. For example, a host that has reached the maximum service level defined will not have further virtual machines started on it. You can also specify the time interval in minutes that a host is permitted to run at the maximum service level before virtual machines are migrated off it.
    • Power Sharing; to distribute the amount of power consumed across all running hosts. Use the green slider to specify the Minimum Service Level a host is permitted to have. For example, a host that has reached the minimum service level defined virtual machines will be migrated to other hosts, enabling the hosts with low usage levels to be switched off to conserve power. You can also specify the time interval (in minutes) that a host is permitted to run at the minimum service level before a power down is triggered.
  6. Click OK to define the policy for the cluster.
Maintaining a Cluster
You can edit cluster details, view hosts, virtual machines and logical networks, and add logical networks to a cluster. Logical Networking is described in Section 2.3, “Logical Networks”.

To edit a cluster:

  1. Click the Clusters tab.
    A list of server clusters displays. Select the cluster that you want to edit.
  2. Click the Edit button.
    The Edit Cluster dialog box displays. The Edit Cluster dialog box is identical to the New Cluster dialog box. Modify the fields as described in Creating a New Host Cluster
  3. Click OK.
    The changes to the server cluster details are displayed in the list.

To view hosts in a cluster:

  1. Click the Clusters tab. A list of server clusters displays. Select the appropriate cluster. The Details pane displays.
  2. Click the Hosts tab. A list of hosts displays.
    The Hosts tab on the Cluster Details pane

    Figure 2.14. The Hosts tab on the Cluster Details pane


To view virtual machines in a cluster:

  1. Click the Clusters tab.
    A list of clusters displays. Select the appropriate cluster. The Details pane displays.
  2. Click the Virtual Machines tab.
    A list of virtual machines displays. This includes both virtual servers and virtual desktops.
Removing a Cluster
Clusters that are not in use can be permanently removed. Deleting unused clusters saves system resources, as existing hosts are checked(or pinged) at fixed intervals.

Warning

It is recommended that the default cluster should not be removed.

To remove a cluster:

  1. Click the Cluster tab.
  2. If the required cluster is not visible, perform a search (see Section 1.2, “Search”).
  3. Select the cluster to be removed. Ensure that there are no running hosts.
  4. Click the Remove button.
    A message prompts you to confirm removal. The dialog box lists all the clusters that are selected for removal.
  5. Click OK.
    The cluster is deleted and disappears from the Clusters tab.

Note

The hosts and storage domains can still be used, and allocated to a different cluster.