6.5. Managing Permissions to Virtual Machines

Virtual machines can be assigned to end users. A user can also be given system administrator rights to virtual machines. A virtual machine system administrator can manage a virtual machine in a similar manner to the system administrator of a physical system.

6.5.1. Assigning Virtual Machines to Users

After the virtual machines have been created and provisioned, they can be assigned to existing users. The UserRole allows end users to connect to virtual machines, perform basic operations, and use virtual machines that are part of a pool. A UserRole is an end user, not a virtual or physical system administrator role.

To assign a user to a virtual machine:

  1. On the Virtual Machines tab, select the required virtual machine and click the Permissions tab from the Details pane. The Permissions tab displays a list of users and their current roles and permissions, if any. Note that there are no inherited permissions for virtual machines.
    Virtual Machine Permissions

    Figure 6.9. Virtual Machine Permissions


  2. Click Add to add an existing user. The Add Permission to User dialog box displays. Enter a Name, or User Name, or part thereof in the Search text box, and click Go. A list of possible matches display in the results list.
  3. Select the check box of the user to be assigned the permissions. Scroll through the Assign role to user list and select the required role, for example, UserRole.
    Assigning Virtual Machine User Permissions

    Figure 6.10. Assigning Virtual Machine User Permissions


  4. Click OK.
    The name of the user displays in the Permissions tab.

Note

You can only assign roles and permissions to existing users. See Chapter 5, Users.

To remove a user role:

  1. Click the Virtual Machine tab. A list of virtual machines displays. If the required virtual machine is not visible, perform a search (see Section 1.2, “Search”).
  2. Select the required virtual machine and click the Permissions tab from the Details pane.
    The Permissions tab displays a list of users and their current roles and permissions, if any.
  3. Select the check box of the appropriate user.
  4. Click Remove. A dialog prompts you to confirm the removal, click OK to proceed. The user is removed from the Permissions tab.