2.3.4. Logical Networks System Permissions

While the superuser or system administrator of the platform has the full range of permissions, a Network Administrator is a system administration role for the network of a cluster only. This is a hierarchical model, and means that a user with the Data Center Administrator role, or a Cluster Administrator role for a data center, also has network permissions. The Network Administrator role permits the configuration of the network in a cluster, and in all hosts in the cluster. This is useful in an enterprise where there is a lot of network traffic that needs to be managed in an optimal fashion.

To assign a network administrator role in a cluster

  1. Click the Cluster tab.
    A list of clusters displays. If the required cluster is not visible, perform a search (see Section 1.2, “Search”).
  2. Select the cluster that you want to edit, and click the Permissions tab from the Details pane.
    The Permissions tab displays a list of users and their current roles and permissions, if any.
    Cluster Permissions

    Figure 2.18. Cluster Permissions


  3. Click Add to add an existing user. The Add Permission to User dialog box displays. Enter a Name, or User Name, or part thereof in the Search text box, and click Go. A list of possible matches display in the results list. Select the check box of the user to be assigned the permissions. Scroll through the Assign role to user list and select NetworkAdmin.
    Assign Network Admin Permissions

    Figure 2.19. Assign Network Admin Permissions


  4. Click OK.
    The name of the user displays in the Permissions tab, with an icon and the assigned Role.

Note

You can only assign roles and permissions to existing users. See (see Chapter 5, Users).
You can also change the network administrator of a cluster, by removing the existing administrator, and adding the new administrator, as described in the previous procedure.

To remove a network administrator role:

  1. Click the Clusters tab. A list of clusters displays. If the required cluster is not visible, perform a search (see Section 1.2, “Search”).
  2. Select the required cluster and click the Permissions tab from the Details pane.
    The Permissions tab displays a list of users and their current roles and permissions, if any.
  3. Select the check box of the appropriate user.
  4. Click Remove. The user is removed from the Permissions tab. As this is hierarchical, the user will also be removed from the clusters, hosts and other objects.