8.2. Managing Desktop Pools

Desktop pools will require maintenance from time to time, for example to add or remove users, or detach desktops.

8.2.1. Assigning Users to a Desktop Pool

The system administrator allocates users to a desktop pool. Once a user logs on to a desktop that belongs to a pool, the desktop belongs to that user until it is released according to the pool type. A virtual desktop can only be used by a single user at a time.
When the user finishes working on a desktop, the desktop image reverts to the snapshot of its state before it was taken from the pool (the original “base image”), and is then available for use by any other user in the pool.

Note

Because all desktops are identical, a user of a pooled desktop can be assigned any desktop in the pool.
The Permissions tab on the Details pane of the Pools tab enables you to manage users for a pool. The available users are drawn from the directory service in use.
The Permissions tab in the Details Pane

Figure 8.4. The Permissions tab in the Details Pane


  1. On the Pools tab, select the desktop pool. The Details pane displays. Click the Permissions tab.
  2. Click Add. The Add Users to Pool dialog box displays.
    Add Users to Pool

    Figure 8.5. Add Users to Pool


  3. Click the Go button to view all existing users, or enter search criteria for a set of users.
  4. Select the users from the list, and click OK.
  5. The users are assigned to the pool and display in the Permissions tab on the Details pane of the selected pool.

Removing Users from a Pool

  1. On the Pools tab, select the desktop pool. The Details pane displays. Click the Permissions tab.
    The Permissions Tab in the Details Pane

    Figure 8.6. The Permissions Tab in the Details Pane


  2. Select the user to be removed. The Remove button is enabled.
    The Remove Button in the Permissions tab

    Figure 8.7. The Remove Button in the Permissions tab


  3. Click Remove. A dialog box displays, prompting to confirm the user or list of users. Click OK. The user is removed from the pool.

Note

The users are only detached from the desktop pool, they are not deleted.