Virtualization (Xen) with RHEL Workstation subscription

Latest response

I have a RHEL Workstation subscription, currently running RHEL5.10. I have been using Parallels Workstation Extreme to run a Win7 Virtual Machine, but since Parallels has stopped offering/supporting it, have been looking into other VM options. It looks like Xen might be a good option to replace Parallels, but I have been having trouble figuring out whether I can use Xen that RHEL provides with my Workstation subscription. Can anyone help? If it is available with the Workstation subscription, what do I need to do? I've checked yum and can't find the Xen packages. Thanks!

Responses

Hi Lee,

Try the free version of virtualization called "KVM", aka "kernel virtualization machine"
- KVM comes with your RHEL Operating System, but you must add some rpms through 'yum'
- I believe KVM is 64-bit and XEN is 32-bit.
- I've seen on some systems where virtualization must be enabled within a system's BIOS. Typically not hard to find.
- I leave SELinux on with KVM (and as much as possible). See this source for general install (more sources next paragraph) and SElinux relabling if you use a separate drive for the images.

Here's some initial documentation
- Red Hat documentation on kvm, pdf format.
- (this is a pdf from Dell) on using KVM virtualization on an existing system.
- Also see this source

I've loaded many current operating systems, Linux, UNIX and including m-soft under KVM.

Try this set of rpms (from the guide above).

yum groupinstall "Virtualization*"

or if needed... (the bit below is long, scroll to right)

yum install kvm python-virtinst libvirt libvirt-pyton virt-manager virt-viewer libguestfs-tools qemu qemu-kvm qemu-img

I use KVM (not in production), but on a couple of workstations and I place the kvm images on a separate drive so the primary OS drive is not nagged by the running virtualized images.

Kind Regards,