Problem in installing Redhat 8 on Vmware Workstation 14

Latest response

Hello everybody,

I'm new in Linux System, and I would like to install Redhat Entreprise on Vmware Workstation V14, but everytime I have the same problem,
(Error setting up base registory).
Configuration :
Redhat Entreprise 8.0
VMware V14,
Also, You can check the stepaway installation in captures,

Thank You

Attachments

Responses

It looks like you are using the boot iso rhel-8.0-x86_64-boot.iso which won't work by itself as it would need a local RHEL 8.0 repository to get the packages from. The RHEL 8.2 boot iso can be used as it supports authenticated access to central Red Hat repositories, but otherwise you need the full DVD.

Hi Machael, By first I thank you for your reactivity, So What can I do for resolving this problem ?

If I'm right, RHEL 8 Guest is only supported since VMware Workstation 15.1.

Hi Philippe, No, You can install it in VMware Workstation 14 (I did it),

Hi Ahmed,

Download and install the latest stable edition RHEL 8.2 ... Anaconda lets you configure the registration during the set up process. :)

Regards,
Christian

Hi Ahmed,

You may download the latest "Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.2 Binary DVD" using this web link: https://access.redhat.com/downloads/content/479/ver=/rhel---8/8.2/x86_64/product-software

This is the complete image file which provides all required packages and images to build RHEL8 system from scratch. All the best!

Hi Sadashiva,

Starting with the release of RHEL 8.2 it is possible to install the system by using the boot.iso, which lets users
download and install the latest stable packages during the set up process ... no need to use the full dvd. iso. :)
This is a big advantage and improvement, because users have a fully up-to-date system after the installation.

Regards,
Christian

Hi Christian, But How can I do it ? We have to specify the repository link to download the packages, I need more clarification PLEASE,

Hi Ahmed,