regular python needed for RPM package to install

Latest response

I'm a DoD contractor trying to install s/w which is a .rpm file. When trying to run the program I get the following message. Failed dependencies:
/usr/bin/python is needed by acas_configure-19.03-1.noarch.

I don't see the regular version of python on RHEL 8.x. When I run python -V i get the command not found, but when I run python2 -V i get Python 2.7.16. Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Responses

Hi Nathaniel,

RHEL 8 ships with Python 3.6 and 2.7 ... both being provided as modules.

$ sudo dnf module list --enabled | grep python
python27             2.7 [d][e]    common [d]        Python programming language, version 2.7            
python36             3.6 [d][e]    common [d], build Python programming language, version 3.6  

Select which one you want to use with the alternatives command ... :)

$ python -V
bash: python: command not found...

$ sudo alternatives --config python

There are 3 programs which provide 'python'.

Selection    Command
-----------------------------------------------
*+ 1           /usr/libexec/no-python
   2           /usr/bin/python3
   3           /usr/bin/python2

Enter to keep the current selection[+], or type selection number: 2  

$ python -V
Python 3.6.8  

Regards,
Christian

I was able to run the alternative command and selected both options 2 & 3. Neither seems to be working. I still get the same message when try to run the rpm command. Side note.. How do you upload screen shots into this forum?

Hi Nathaniel,

No idea why your program doesn't run - but it looks as if there are not matching dependencies involved. Best
would be to ask the application vendor. And screenshots can only be added (uploaded) in the original post. :)

Regards,
Christian

Hi Nathaniel,

Some additional information ... default version of python on RHEL 8 is 3.6 - there are only some basic packages of python 2.7