Reinstall

Latest response

Hi i have a developer subscription i have installed REHL on a external HD because i installed Fedora on my main disk. So mabye a stupid question but i will someday buy a new laptop my is quite old yes REHL is installed on my external HD but i will probedly have to reinstall it because a new computer ad it would probedly don't boot on new UEFI so how do i do it with the subscription?

Responses

Hi Daniel,

Unregister the old system before you install the new one.

sudo subscription-manager remove --all
sudo subscription-manager unregister
sudo subscription-manager clean

Then re-register the new system after having installed it.

sudo subscription-manager register
sudo subscription-manager refresh
sudo subscription-manager attach --auto

That's all you need to do regarding the subscription ... :)

Regards,
Christian

This is one of the top issues people come with the forum with (well, registration and adding repos). Your ready solution is useful Christian.

I'm thinking of suggesting somehow we have a "top issue" area for such things.

ADDED/EDITED: Christian, maybe we can pool our brains on a common registration/subscription. This is a beginning, but as we both know, sometimes other common issues exist such as no network, even an /etc/resolv.conf that has no DNS resolvers, or someone ran out of subscriptions (not this specific issue for this post).

Regards
RJ

Hi RJ,

That is very good idea which I already thought about too ... BUT : I am not so sure if it helps to avoid duplicates. :)
Red Hat has the best Knowledgebase I'm aware of and the RH Customer portal provides a close to 100% perfect
search functionality. Still most (newer) users tend to choose the (what they think is) fastest way by posting their questions. Maybe we can convince a responsible person to create a new section "Commonly known problems" ...
something like FAQ's on the main landing page where our members can find working solutions faster. Until that'll