I just want to say goodbye to MS

Latest response

I may be in way over my head but i am persistent enough to stick with this until I figure it out. What my goal is, is to never have to use a Microsoft product again unless I choose to. I am sick of them vandalizing and altering my property with a deliberate attempt to hide it from me and , of course, do not feel the need for my consent. I know I am no computer engineer and have no intentions of ever being one. I want an enterprise system simply for the fact I will have a fighting chance of actually owning and have control of the OS. I am not a criminal nor am i attempting to hide anything. I hope you will just humor me along and give me guidance on how to do this.

Responses

Hi Tom,

Good idea and yes, Red Hat is a good choice ... I've done exactly what you're starting to do some years ago and I never looked
back. RHEL gives you everything you need and even more : freedom ! You are the "boss" who decides what happens and what
not. With Red Hat based systems you can do everything you want to do, without having to fear about privacy related issues. :)

We gladly will "humor you along" and guide you where ever we can, feel free to ask specific questions. If I'm allowed to give a starting advice - the best method is "learning by doing". Me myself, I have learned the basics and further on gained advanced knowledge by "self-training", and I started from scratch. Once you learned some basics, you are able to ask in such a way that chances are high to receive useful recommendations on how to solve "this and that". Now I wish you good luck and much fun.

Regards,
Christian

Well I'm feeling better about this already. I am attempting to create a install media on one laptop and I am going to attempt to install it on a second laptop that I put a blank sshd in, thanks again Christian!!

You're welcome, Tom ! Most important : Download the dvd.iso - not the boot.iso ... then create the medium. :)

Regards,
Christian