[VR] Difference between 3-Types or repos in RHEL 8.

Latest response

Hello
When I list all the repos in RHEL 8, It shows a repo with 3 different formats. For example, For App-Stream Repo it get

rhel-8-for-x86_64-appstream-rpms
rhel-8-for-x86_64-appstream-source-rpms
rhel-8-for-x86_64-appstream-debug-rpms

I being a NewBie I'm confused. I want to gain knowledge on this kinda changes and much more about App-Stream Repo.
Can you please help me?

Thank You.

Responses

Good Day Venkat Ramana

Thanks for posting your question in the Red Hat discussion area. The question you posted is central around how Red Hat has adopted a new repository model with the advent of Red Hat Linux 8.

The long answer is here at the Red Hat Release notes on RHEL 8 . A somewhat more concise answer might be here at the Red Hat Developer's blog

The below is a direct quote to the last link I provided
With the introduction of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8 (RHEL 8) we have tried to greatly simplify the layout of the content available in Red Hat Enterprise Linux. The main repository, BaseOS, provides the parts of the distribution that give you a running userspace on physical hardware, a virtual machine, a cloud instance or a container. The Application Stream (AppStream) repository provides all the applications you might want to run in a given userspace. The Supplemental repository provides other software that has special licensing. The CodeReady Linux Builder provides mostly build time components for developers (see Introducing CodeReady Linux Builder).

As a result, most RHEL 8 systems will only need two repositories enabled. However, this may lead to the the question, where do I find alternate versions of software if there is only 1 application repository? In prior versions, you would look to the RHSCL or Extras repositories. However, in RHEL 8, through a new technology called Modularity, we can offer those alternate versions in the same physical repository.