Red Hat Introduces Red Hat Enterprise Linux 2013 Packaging Model

Updated -

Red Hat is pleased to announce a new Red Hat Enterprise Linux 2013 packaging model that provides a more flexible and intuitive way of managing Red Hat Enterprise Linux system entitlements. These new, stackable subscriptions are designed to help you efficiently transition your physical Red Hat Enterprise Linux entitlements into virtual or cloud environments.

Previously, Red Hat's subscription model has consisted of entitlements that are locked to a particular system size (e.g., two-socket, four-socket) or type (e.g., physical, virtual). Red Hat's new subscription model lets you stack the same Red Hat Enterprise Linux entitlements for different configurations. For larger physical machines, you can stack entitlements. For virtual environments, each subscription can be used to entitle two virtual machines. As your need for Red Hat Enterprise Linux systems grows or changes, you can draw from the same set of entitlements and apply them to different machines. This model is particularly suited for cloud infrastructures, where systems need to be deployed and retired quickly.

In this new model, you may choose to purchase Red Hat Enterprise Linux subscriptions in the following options:

  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server is the subscription that you can re-purpose across physical, virtual, and cloud deployments.
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux for Virtual Datacenters is for deployments running VMware, HyperV, or Red Hat Enterprise Virtualization hypervisors. Once the hypervisors themselves are entitled, you can run an unlimited number of Red Hat Enterprise Linux virtual machines on those host systems.
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server Entry Level is meant for single-machine deployments primarily used for prototyping or non-critical workloads. This option is available only with Self-Support, while the other options are available with Standard and Premium support.

In addition to the new, flexible subscription model, Red Hat is enriching the support offerings included in its subscription service. As always, you are able to choose the kind of support that matches the criticality of the workload you are protecting.

  • Standard Support now includes Software Collections, which allow application developers to rapidly inherit innovations in programming languages such as Perl, Python, and Ruby and in databases like MariaDB, MongoDB, MySQL, and Postgres.
  • Premium Support adds Extended Update Support to extend the life cycle of your mission-critical deployments, offering long-term stability and predictability required by enterprise applications.

For more information on how the new 2013 packaging model can best suit your needs, please refer to this article here in the Customer Portal.

  • Product
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux
  • Category
  • Learn more